Lecture: March 30, 2011

Announcements:
On Monday Dr. Hartley will be gone and Dr. Jones will be teaching class. Be nice to Dr. Jones!

Today we talked about talked about Ch. 45 which covers Nutrition, Digestion and Absorption.

One of the topics that came up was Diabetes. Here is some information on the disease:
Diabetes is a lifelong disease that arises when the body cannot produce or use insulin resulting in high blood glucose levels. Insulin is a hormone that takes glucose from the blood into the cells and is needed to convert sugar and starches into energy.
Type 1 Diabetes or Juvenile Diabetes occurs in children and young adults. Their bodies don’t make insulin or don’t know how to use it. People with Type 1 diabetes are put on Insulin therapy. Only 5% of people with diabetes have type 1.

Type 2 diabetes is the most common form of diabetes that affects millions of people. In type 2 diabetes the person either does not produce enough insulin or the body ignores the insulin being produced. People with type 2 diabetes have to ensure they are within adequate glucose levels to avoid any complications with glucose building up in the blood.
Gestational Diabetes is when an expecting mother develops diabetes after the 28th week of pregnancy. Often times gestational diabetes disappears after the baby is born.
For more information you can visit:
http://www.diabetes.org/diabetes-basics/?utm_source=WWW&utm_medium=GlobalNavDB&utm_campaign=CON

Another question that came up in class was if it was better to add salt while cooking or after cooking. Here is what I found:
The longer food is cooked the more flavor is masked. Adding salt while you are cooking is not as healthy as adding it after because the salt being added while cooking loses flavor and often people add more salt to maintain that flavor. It is healthier to simply add salt after the cooking process is complete. Less salt is being added to the food but the flavor will remain the same. If salt should be added to a recipe try adding it last to reduce overall salt input.
For more information you can visit:
http://www.eat-healthy-live-healthy.com/minimizing-your-salt-intake

The next question that came about was why we weigh less in the morning that at night?
We weigh less in the morning because our bodies have been asleep for the past 8 or so hours. While the body is sleeping it still respires however there is no energy intake. So essentially your body is burning more energy that it’s getting. Also while you respire you lose water and CO2 through respiration. These gases have mass which contributes to the overall loss of mass. ☺

Dr. Hartley was talking about an SNL video with Alec Baldwin that talked about the body systems. I couldn’t find it, but I’ll keep looking and post it if I do!

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Lecture: March 30, 2011

  1. ekpetersen

    Great blog! I especially found the info about diabetes to be rather interesting. It’s funny how common it is, yet the majority of us know so little about it. I didn’t even know the basics of how insulin works until our biology courses this semester…
    I’ve included a pretty interesting video that further expands on how the body of a diabetic differs from the usual, in terms of insulin and glucose interactions. Enjoy!

  2. bbaclig

    Well done! I was especially interested in the part about adding salt in our foods. I never realized adding salt during and after cooking made a difference. I would put salt in my food during my cooking because it was what I learned from other people and to just add a little pizzazz to it. I never realized that adding salt during the cooking process leads to an accumulation of more salt than after cooking the food.

  3. psteven

    That’s interesting that only 5% of those people with diabetes have type 1. Also, I have never heard of gestational diabetes. Well done.

  4. togas1

    Nice blog! When reading about gestational diabetes I was reminded of my anatomy class senior year. I was surprised when I found out that becoming pregnant can cause diabetes, spinal issues, and anemia. We talked about the three different kinds of spinal issues: scoliosis, lordosis, and kyphosis. Scoliosis is when a person’s back is curved usually in an S shape. Lordosis usually occurs in pregnant women and it is when the spine curves outward causing a woman to stick out her belly. Kyphosis is also known as hunchback and is really common in the elderly. This made me wonder why bringing a life into this world can sometimes be so hard – good luck Dr. Hartley!

    • Jennifer Manfredo

      This is really interesting, Tommy. I never really thought about the fact that lordosis can be caused by pregnancy. I actually have scoliosis and slight kyphosis right now. I mean, I know I’ll already have pregnancy issues because of my Grave’s, but now I might have these other issues too…oh well! You have now made me aware of what could happen. 🙂

  5. camilletan

    My best friend’s endocrinologist told me that if you have the vitamins that are in the capsules, then only 30% of the vitamins go into the body to be used. If you take the chewy vitamins, then it goes up to 90% ! There is such a huge difference between the percentages, its amazing how much of a difference there is. I remember taking Flinstone chewy vitamins when I was a baby!

  6. camilletan

    I’m the best friend Camille speaks of, by the way 🙂 Along with chewy vitamins, other vitamins such as Viactiv are good since they are able to be absorbed more easily into the body.

  7. mgranzella

    I learned a lot from the link for more information on gestational diabetes. Usually the case of gestational diabetes will show up during a woman’s pregnancy and then leave when the pregnancy is over. However, if a woman has had gestational diabetes in any one of her pregnancies, there is a 2/3 chance that she will develop them again in a later pregnancy.
    Also, it was interesting to read that many women if they are diagnosed with gestational diabetes, it may uncover either type 1 or type 2 diabetes within themselves. The website also said that there could be a link between gestational diabetes in pregnant women and type 2 diabetes later on in their lives.

  8. cgalimanis

    I think that gestational diabetes is really interesting. I wonder what is it that causes the mother to become diabetic. I would not anticipate her diet to change much pre and post the 28th week of pregnancy. Glucose levels should remain about the same throughout preganancy if diet stayed fairly constant. Also, I am curious about type 1 diabetes. Does it only occur in kids and young adults or can adults aquire it later in life?

  9. Lauren

    Type 1 diabetes can occur at any age. It used to be called Juvenile diabetes, but because more and more people were being diagnosed with type 1 at later ages, even in their 30s and 40s, it was changed to type 1. Type 1 is more common in children and young adults as their body decides to stop making insulin, but it does happen to older people as well. I even had a cousin that was diagnosed with type 1 at the age of 42! I’m not to sure about the prevalence of it in later ages, or how old the oldest person to ever be diagnosed with type 1 is, but anything is possible these days!

Leave a Reply

